Tag: Manohar Lal Khattar


Housing & Urban Affairs | Sorting the urban logjam

The ministry will have to revive projects that are in a limbo, such as Smart Cities, while also working to introduce sustainable urban mobility solutionsISSUE DATE: Jun 24, 2024 | UPDATED: Jun 15, 2024 16:55 IST Formerly known as the urban development ministry, the ministry of housing and urban affairs executes a multitude of welfare programmes for the Modi government. Source link

RSS pracharak, 2-time Haryana CM & PM Modi’s old friend, Khattar sworn in as cabinet minister

Gurugram: Former Haryana chief minister Manohar Lal Khattar was among the BJP MPs sworn in as cabinet ministers Sunday along with the swearing-in ceremony of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, officiated by President Droupadi Murmu.Khattar’s induction as a cabinet minister was a foregone conclusion, expected ever since he was elected as an MP from Karnal, defeating former National Students’ Union of India (NSUI) leader Divyanshu Budhiraja of the Congress. The buzz in the political circles was that Khattar would either replace J.P. Nadda as the BJP President or be accommodated in the Modi 3.0 Cabinet due to his proximity to the PM, a fact publicly acknowledged by Modi on 11 March this year. Show Full Article While inaugurating the newly constructed Dwarka Express...

Down to 5 seats from 10 in Haryana, why Khattar-Saini change of guard may have been BJP’s own goal

Gurugram: The Lok Sabha election results in Haryana suggest that the change of guard in the state — bringing in Nayab Singh Saini as chief minister in place of Manohar Lal Khattar — days ahead of the announcement of poll dates doesn’t seem to have worked for the BJP if its objective was to check anti-incumbency.The ruling BJP had made a clean sweep in the 2019 elections by winning all 10 Lok Sabha seats in Haryana. This time, it won only five, while the Congress made a stunning comeback, winning the remaining five seats. Besides Khattar who won from Karnal, and industrialist Naveen Jindal’s victory at Kurukshetra, the BJP’s wins were largely restricted to the national capital region and Ahirwal seats of Faridabad, Gurgaon, and Bhiwani-Mahendragarh, with Congress sweeping the Jat heartla...