Odisha chief minister Naveen Patnaik resigns, BJP to form new government | India News – Times of India


NEW DELHI: After a resounding defeat in the state assembly and Parliamentary elections, Naveen Patnaik, the long-standing chief minister of Odisha and leader of the Biju Janata Dal (BJD), tendered his resignation to governor Raghubar Das at the Raj Bhavan in Bhubaneswar on Wednesday. Patnaik’s 24-year tenure as the state’s chief minister came to an end following the electoral setback.
The BJP emerged victorious, securing 78 out of the 147 seats in the state assembly, while the BJD managed to win only 51 seats, falling significantly short of the majority mark of 74.Congress secured 14 seats.
In the Lok Sabha polls, the BJP dominated by winning 20 out of the 21 parliamentary seats in Odisha, with Congress claiming the remaining seat.
Patnaik’s political career began when he entered state politics through the BJD, a party named after his father, former Odisha CM Biju Patnaik. He won the 1998 Lok Sabha bypoll in his father’s constituency of Aska. Following the BJD’s success in the 2000 Assembly elections, where they formed a coalition with the BJP and secured a majority, Patnaik resigned from his position in the Union Cabinet to take on the role of chief minister. He went on to become the second longest-serving chief minister after Sikkim CM Pawan Kumar Chamling.

Lok Sabha Elections

Assembly Elections

In the 2024 Lok Sabha elections, the BJP won 240 seats, a significant decrease from their 2019 tally of 303. The Congress, meanwhile, made substantial gains, securing 99 seats. The INDIA bloc surpassed the 230 mark, providing strong opposition and defying predictions. Prime Minister Narendra Modi has secured a third term but will require the support of coalition partners such as JD(U) chief Nitish Kumar and TDP’s chief Chandrababu Naidu, as the BJP fell 32 seats short of the 272 majority mark. This marks the first time since 2014 that the BJP has not secured a majority on its own.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *