Friday, February 23TRUSTED FEARLESS INTERNATIONAL & NATIONAL NEWS PORTAL

World Cup: Controversial dismissal of Marcus Stoinis mars Australia-South Africa clash | Cricket News – Times of India


NEW DELHI: A controversial dismissal marred the Australia-South Africa World Cup encounter at Ekana Cricket Stadium in Lucknow on Thursday. Australia’s Marcus Stoinis was controversially given caught behind off the bowling of pacer Kagiso Rabada.
The incident occurred in the 18th over of the Australian run chase, when Stoinis faced a back-of-length delivery that was sliding down the leg side. In an attempt to glance at the ball, it appeared to make slight contact with his glove as it made its way to the wicketkeeper Quinton de Kock. What intensified the controversy was that Stoinis’ backhand had come off the handle of the bat.
Scorecard: Australia vs South Africa
South Africa, sensing an opportunity, opted to review the decision for a caught-behind dismissal. The pivotal question at this juncture was whether the ball had brushed against the bat or Stoinis’s thigh pad. The replays confirmed that Stoinis had gloved the ball, a situation exacerbated by his hand coming off the bat during the process. However, the crux of the matter was whether the top hand (on the handle) was connecting to the bottom hand (off the handle).

marcus

From a square leg angle, the replays suggested that the bottom hand was indeed separated from the top hand when the ball made contact with the glove. This observation raised doubts about Stoinis’s dismissal. However, the out decision stood, and Stoinis was obliged to depart, leaving a bitter taste in the mouths of Australian fans.
The saga didn’t conclude there, as another layer of drama emerged when there was a review to determine whether the wicketkeeper, de Kock, had taken the catch cleanly. The third umpire scrutinised the catch and confirmed that it was indeed clean.
The third umpire decided to rule Stoinis out, leading to debates and discussions among players, fans, and cricket pundits alike. Stoinis had to leave the field with just 5 runs from 4 balls, which included a boundary.
Despite the decision being upheld, Australia expressed their discontent, and the controversial dismissal of Stoinis added an extra layer of intrigue to the thrilling encounter between these two cricketing giants.

Kuldeep Yadav, India’s trump card at ODI World Cup





Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *