Roelof van der Merwe, Colin Ackermann headline Netherlands’ ODI World Cup squad | Cricket News – Times of India


NEW DELHI: The Netherlands cricket team has revealed its 15-member squad for the upcoming ODI World Cup, slated to commence in India next month. Led by Scott Edwards, this squad promises a blend of experience and emerging talent, with a notable recall for the seasoned duo of Roelof van der Merwe and Colin Ackermann.
Both van der Merwe and Ackermann were conspicuously absent from the Qualifiers, where the Dutch team finished as runners-up. Their return to the squad has been greeted with enthusiasm, given their extensive international experience. Ackermann’s performance as the team’s second-highest run-scorer in last year’s T20 World Cup in Australia underscores his importance to the side. Meanwhile, van der Merwe has consistently showcased his skills in various aspects of the game.

The Netherlands are placing high hopes on their opener, Max O’Dowd, who will be crucial in setting the tone at the top of the order. The team is also banking on the all-round abilities of Bas de Leede, expecting him to make substantial contributions with both bat and ball.
A key figure in the batting lineup is Vikram Singh, who finished as the top run-scorer during the Qualifiers. His ability to anchor the innings and score runs consistently will be vital to the Dutch campaign.
Under the tutelage of coach Ryan Cook, the Netherlands team will face two significant warm-up matches, squaring off against Australia on September 30 and India on October 3. These matches will serve as valuable preparation before the tournament officially kicks off. The Netherlands’ opening match in the World Cup will be against Pakistan, scheduled for three days later in Hyderabad.

ODI World Cup venues schedule graphic.

This World Cup appearance marks the fifth time the Netherlands has participated in the prestigious event, having previously fallen short of progressing beyond the group stage on all four occasions. As they prepare to embark on their latest campaign, the Dutch squad is determined to improve upon their past performances and make a lasting impression on the global cricket stage.
Netherlands squad: Scott Edwards (c), Max O’Dowd, Bas de Leede, Vikram Singh, Teja Nidamanuru, Paul van Meekeren, Colin Ackermann, Roelof van der Merwe, Logan van Beek, Aryan Dutt, Ryan Klein, Wesley Barresi, Saqib Zulfiqar, Shariz Ahmad and Sybrand Engelbrecht.
(With inputs from PTI)


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *