Babar Azam slams maiden PSL century, equals this record in T20 cricket | Cricket News – Times of India

NEW DELHI: Peshawar Zalmi skipper Babar Azam entered into the record books as he smashed his maiden century in the Pakistan Super League on Wednesday.
One of the modern day greats, Babar got to his 8th T20 ton with his trademark cover drive in the 18th over bowled by pacer Naseem Shah in the PSL match against Quetta Gladiators.
In the process, Babar equalled the record of scoring eight T20 hundreds. Aussies David Warner, Aaron Finch and Michael Klinger also have 8 T20 centuries to their name.

Babar’s whirlwind knock of 115 powered Peshawar to a massive 240/2. The skipper hammered 15 fours and three sixes during his 65-ball stay at the crease.
Only legendary West Indies batter cricketer Chris Gayle has scored more centuries than Babar, Warner, Finch and Klinger in the history of T20 cricket. The left-handed batter scored 22 centuries in the shortest format of the game.
England’s Luke Wright and former New Zealand wicket-keeper batter Brendon McCullum feature third on the list with seven centuries to their name.
KL Rahul, Jos Buttler, Shane Watson, Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma are tied at the fourth place having six tons under their belt.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *