Chetan Sharma is chief selector again | Cricket News – Times of India

BCCI names Ankola, SS Das, Subroto Banerjee and Sharath in new committee
NEW DELIH: The Indian cricket board (BCCI) has reappointed Chetan Sharma as the chairman of selectors for the senior national team while letting go of the services of the rest of the earlier panel.
Sharma and Harvinder Singh were the only ones from the previous committee to reapply for the job after the BCCI tendered an advertisement for all five posts following India’s disappointing T20 World Cup campaign.
Sharma’s committee will now have former India opener Shiv Sundar Das, former India pacers Subroto Banerjee and Salil Ankola and former Tamil Nadu batting stalwart Sridharan Sharath.
Das was picked as a candidate from central zone as he finished his first-class career at Vidarbha. Although he has played the same number of Test s as Sharma, Chetan was preferred as chairman since he made his debut before Das and also has prior experience of the job for two years now.
“The Cricket Advisory Committee (CAC) comprising Sulakshana Naik, Ashok Malhotra, and Jatin Paranjape undertook an extensive process for selecting members. The board received around 600 applications. Upon due deliberation and careful consideration, the CAC shortlisted 11 individuals for personal interviews,” BCCI secretary Jay Shah said in a statement.
TOI understands that Sharma has been retained to maintain continuity as the board tries to carry out a major transition, especially in the T20I format. Sharma was involved in the recent review meeting along with ODI and Test captain Rohit Sharma, head coach Rahul Dravid and NCA head VVS Laxman.
Sharath, meanwhile, is the only selector in the panel who has not played international cricket and the first such instance since Rajinder Hans, who served till 2016.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *