Shreyas Iyer honoured at annual Mumbai Cricket Association Awards | Cricket News – Times of India

MUMBAI: India batter Shreyas Iyer was honoured with five awards at the annual Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA) awards, held at the MCA Club at the Bandra Kurla Complex on Friday.
MCA took to Instagram to share a picture of Iyer receiving an award.
“5 Trophies”, the Instagram story posted by MCA read.
Shreyas Iyer had an incredible 2022, which saw him become a regular in India’s middle-order, especially in white-ball cricket.
In the last 12 months, Iyer outdid the likes of star batters Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul. He also became the highest international run-scorer for India in 2022.
He ended the year with 1,609 international runs at an average of 48.75. He scored one century and 14 half-centuries, with a best of 113 not out.

In five Test matches, Iyer scored 422 runs across eight innings at an average of 60.28, with four half-centuries.
In 17 ODIs, he scored 724 runs at an average of 55.69. He was extremely consistent in the format, scoring one century and six half-centuries in 15 innings in the 50-over format, with a best of 113 not out.
Iyer continued with his top form in T20Is as well, scoring 463 runs at an average of 35.61 with a strike rate of 141.15. Four half-centuries came off his bat in the T20Is in 2022, with the best knock of 74 not out.
Iyer was also a part of the Mumbai team that won its maiden Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy last year. In six matches Iyer played in the tournament, he scored 173 runs at an average of 28.83 with a best score of 73.
After a brief rest, Iyer will be back in India colours for the ODI series against Sri Lanka, which will start on January 10.
Among other awards, ‘The Gabba conquerors’ Shardul Thakur, Ajinkya Rahane and team’s former head coach Ravi Shastri were also feted for the team’s historic win over Australia in Brisbane during the four-match series in 2020-21 when India went on to clinch the Border-Gavaskar Trophy.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *