‘Big insult’: Ashwin lashes out at coach Hussey for ‘withdrawn appeal’ remark | Cricket News – Times of India

NEW DELHI: The controversy surrounding Melbourne Stars skipper Adam Zampa‘s attempt to run out Tom Rogers of Melbourne Renegades at the non strikers’ end refuses to die down with Indian off spinner Ravichandran Ashwin expressing his views on the incident in the Big Bash League.
The incident took place on Tuesday when Zampa completed his follow-through and was on the verge of releasing the ball to Mackenzie Harvey, he turned back and dislodged Rogers’ bails and signalled to the umpire to give marching orders to the batter.

I DISAGREE WITH DAVID HUSSEY | Adam Zampa Run Out | India vs Sri Lanka 1st T20 Review | R Ashwin

However, unperturbed by Zampa’s call, the umpire first reasoned with the bowler, telling him that his arm had gone past the ‘vertical’ — the point where the ball is deemed to be bowled. He then checked with the TV umpire, who also came up with the same verdict, thus giving Rogers a reprieve.
Stars coach David Hussey also made it clear that they would’ve withdrawn the appeal had the batter been given out. Hussey’s comment did not go well with Ashwin as he termed his comments ‘a big insult to the bowler’.

“I don’t believe what he said. Because if you wanted to withdraw the appeal, you need not have taken that to the third umpire itself. You could have easily withdrawn that appeal even before it had gone to the third umpire. First of all, why should you withdraw the appeal? A bowler is running the non-striker out. The captain will say that the bowler is wrong or what? What a big insult that is to the bowler if the captain is withdrawing the appeal,” said Ashwin on his YouTube channel.
Ashwin also likened Zampa’s ‘stare’ attempt at the non-striker’s end with the WWE superstar The Undertaker’s stare.
“I am tired of talking or writing about this topic. Every time this incident happens, there are preachers who hop in and start preaching. But the best thing I loved from this whole incident is the stare given by Adam Zampa after running out the non-striker. It was similar to The Undertaker’s stare in World Wrestling Federation. He didn’t even say a word to the batsman. The batsman also stood in silence without knowing whether it was out or not out,” he added.
“People will talk about the legality of the dismissal. That he has completed his action and stuff like that. But see, he was about to bowl, and the non-striker had started running. In fact, the rule clearly states that you can run anywhere as soon as the bowler releases since he can’t run you out anymore once he releases. If you ask me if the non-striker starts running once the bowler releases, that in itself is an advantage for the non-striker. Because the batsman hasn’t made an impact yet. And I don’t know how many balls come back to the bowler as the batter rarely plays defense in T20.”

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *