Watch: Sarfaraz or Rizwan? Confusion over Pakistan captain in absence of Babar Azam | Cricket News – Times of India


NEW DELHI: The third day of the first Test between Pakistan and New Zealand in Karachi witnessed a bizarre incident with confusion arising over who is leading the home side in the absence of regular skipper Babar Azam.
Mohammad Rizwan, who is not a part of Pakistan’s playing XI, came out as a substitute and replaced the unfit Babar on the field. Rizwan was also seen setting the field as he took over the leadership responsibilities, after the Pakistan team management had nominated him as the acting captain of the side.

But confusion came when wicketkeeper Sarfaraz Ahmed opted for a review after Devon Conway was given not out off Nauman Ali. The on-field umpire’s decision got overturned in Pakistan’s favour.
But it has been clarified that Sarfaraz, and not Rizwan, was the stand-in captain. and the Pakistan management was also informed that substitutes were not allowed to lead a side on the field.
The MCC law – 24.1.2 – suggests: “A substitute shall not bowl or act as captain but may act as wicketkeeper only with the consent of the umpires.”


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *