Mohammed Shami replaces Jasprit Bumrah in India’s T20 World Cup squad

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) finally named Mohammed Shami as Jasprit Bumrah’s replacement in India’s T20 World Cup squad.

Bumrah had been ruled out of the T20 World Cup squad earlier this month after he sustained a prolonged back injury ahead of the India-South Africa T20I series. Shami, who had been named among the standbys, hasn’t featured in a T20I for India since last year’s World Cup in the United Arab Emirates.

The All India Selection Committee also zeroed in on Mohammed Siraj and Shardul Thakur as the stand by players, replacing Shami and Deepak Chahar, who also picked up an injury during the India-South Africa ODI series.

While Shami has already joined the India squad down under, Siraj and Thakur will travel to Australia shortly.

India have had a range of injury issues in the lead up to the world tournament, including all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja, who was ruled out of the side after the injury he picked during the 2022 Asia Cup.

The men in blue recently played two warm-up games in Perth against Western Australia XI and will play Australia and New Zealand before kick-starting their Super 12 campaign against Pakistan at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.

India squad for ICC T20 World Cup: Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Hardik Pandya, R. Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Mohammed Shami.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *