Ajinkya Rahane to lead Mumbai in Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy | Cricket News – Times of India

MUMBAI: Veteran batsman Ajinkya Rahane was on Thursday named by the selection committee, led by ex-India pacer Salil Ankola, as the Mumbai captain for the league stage of the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy at Rajkot, which will kick off on October 11.
With Covid-19 threat now almost over, the selectors picked the usual 15-man squad for the tournament.
Rahane had earlier this week led West Zone to the Duleep Trophy title. While the former India Test captain missed the knockouts due to a hamstring injury, Mumbai had reached the final of the Ranji Trophy under Prithvi Shaw’s captaincy last season.
“Ajinkya led West Zone superbly in the Duleep Trophy recently. Let’s not forget that he’s played 82 Tests and been an India captain. Prithvi and the other youngsters will learn a lot from him. You need a mature guy to handle them. He was away most of the time last season, but this time, he’s available throughout the season, which is a boon for us,” Ankola told TOI.
A big boost for Mumbai is that India’s pace bowling allrounder Shardul Thakur is available for this tournament, even though he’s set to be picked for India’s ODI side against South Africa. The India-SA series will end on October 11, the day Mumbai launch their campaign, against Mizoram.
Mumbai are placed in Group A with Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Assam, Railways, Uttarakhand, Vidarbha and Mizoram. Ahead of the tournament, the team will leave for Ahmedabad on October 2, and play three practice T20 games against Gujarat and Rajasthan, before travelling by road to Rajkot.
The squad: Ajinkya Rahane (Captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Prithvi Shaw, Sarfaraz Khan, Shardul Thakur, Shams Mulani, Tanush Kotian, Hardik Tamore (WK), Prashant Solanki, Dhaval Kulkarni, Tushar Deshpande, Shivam Dube, Aman Khan, Sairaj Patil, Mohit Awasthi.
Mumbai’s fixtures in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy (T20): Vs Mizoram on Oct 11, Vs Madhya Pradesh on Oct 12, Vs Assam on Oct 14, Vs Vidarbha on Oct 16, Vs Rajasthan on Oct 18, Vs Railways on Oct 20, Vs Uttarakhand on Oct 22.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *