Asia Cup 2022 Schedule: Full schedule of Asia Cup matches, timings, venues, team squads, Head to Head, most titles, live stream details | Cricket News – Times of India

The 15th edition of cricket’s Asia Cup begins on Saturday, August 27, with a clash between Sri Lanka and Afghanistan. But, the match that everyone is looking forward to is of course India vs Pakistan. The two cricketing heavyweights begin their Asia Cup campaign this time with this clash on Sunday, August 28. This time the Asia Cup is being played in the T20 format as a preparatory tournament for the T20 World Cup at the end of the year in Australia.
The tournament this time is being played in the UAE, though Sri Lanka are the official hosts. The tournament couldn’t be played as per schedule in the island nation because of the ongoing political crisis in Sri Lanka.
Since 2016, the Asia Cup has been played on a rotational basis between the ODI and T20 formats, depending on which global ICC tournament is scheduled next.
Hong Kong on Wednesday (August 24) became the third team in Group A, which has India and Pakistan. India are scheduled to play Hong Kong on August 31.

India are the defending champions, having beaten Bangladesh in the last edition final in 2018 by 3 wickets.

The very first edition of the Asia Cup was played in 1984 in the UAE. There were only 3 teams that participated in the inaugural edition – India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka. All teams played each other once each. India won the title on the basis of most points (8) after winning both their matches. Sri Lanka were the runners-up with 4 points, with one win and one loss. Pakistan finished with 0 points after losing to both India and Sri Lanka.
Here’s how the 6 teams have been divided into two groups for Asia Cup 2022:
Group A: India, Pakistan, Hong Kong
Group B: Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Afghanistan
Here is the full schedule of matches for Asia Cup 2022:
August 27 (Saturday): Afghanistan vs Sri Lanka in Dubai – Match starts at 7:30 PM IST
August 28 (Sunday): India vs Pakistan in Dubai – Match starts at 7:30 PM IST
August 30 (Tuesday): Afghanistan vs Bangladesh in Sharjah – Match starts at 7:30 PM IST
August 31 (Wednesday): India vs Hong Kong in Dubai – Match starts at 7:30 PM IST
September 1 (Thursday): Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka in Dubai – Match starts at 7:30 PM IST
September 2 (Friday): Pakistan vs Hong Kong in Sharjah – Match starts at 7:30 PM IST
September 3 (Saturday) in Sharjah: Super 4 – B1 vs B2 – Match starts at 7:30 PM IST
September 4 (Sunday) in Dubai: Super 4 – A1 vs A2 – Match starts at 7:30 PM IST
September 6 (Tuesday) in Dubai: Super 4 – A1 vs B1 – Match starts at 7:30 PM IST
September 7 (Wednesday) in Dubai: Super 4 – A2 vs B2 – Match starts at 7:30 PM IST
September 8 (Thursday) in Dubai: Super 4 – A1 vs B2 – Match starts at 7:30 PM IST
September 9 (Friday) in Dubai: Super 4 – A2 VS B1 – Match starts at 7:30 PM IST
September 11 (Sunday) in Dubai: Final – Match starts at 7:30 PM IST
Here are the full squads:
India: Rohit Sharma (C), KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant, Deepak Hooda, Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan.
Standby Players: Shreyas Iyer, Axar Patel, Deepak Chahar.
Pakistan: Babar Azam (c), Shadab Khan (vc) Asif Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Naseem Shah, Shahnawaz Dahani, Usman Qadir
Sri Lanka: Dasun Shanaka (capt), Danushka Gunathilaka, Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis, Charith Asalanka, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Ashen Bandara, Dhananjaya de Silva, Wanindu Hasaranga, Maheesh Theekshana, Jeffrey Vandersay, Praveen Jayawickrama, Chamika Karunaratne, Dilshan Madushanka, Matheesha Pathirana, Nuwanidu Fernando, Nuwan Thushara, Dinesh Chandimal
Bangladesh: Shakib Al Hasan (captain), Anamul Haque, Mushfiqur Rahim, Afif Hossain, Mosaddek Hossain, Mahmudullah, Mahedi Hasan, Mohammad Saifuddin, Hasan Mahmud, Mustafizur Rahman, Nasum Ahmed, Sabbir Rahman, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Ebadot Hossain, Parvez Hossain Emon, Nurul Hasan, Taskin Ahmed
Afghanistan: Mohammad Nabi (C), Najibullah Zadran (VC), Afsar Zazai (WK), Azmatullah Omarzai, Farid Ahmad Malik, Fazal Haq Farooqi, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Hazratullah Zazai, Ibrahim Zadran, Karim Janat, Mujib ur Rahman, Najibullah Zadran, Naveen ul Haq, Noor Ahmad, Rahmanullah Gurbaz (WK), Rashid Khan and Samiullah Shinwari
India vs Pakistan: Overall T20I Head to Head:



India vs Pakistan T20Is: Most runs:


Where to watch and follow Asia Cup 2022 matches:
You can catch live match commentary, updates, latest stats, toss results, player analysis and more on:
TV: All Asia Cup matches will be telecast on the Star Sports channels – Star Sports 1, Star Sports 1 HD (English), Star Sports 1 Hindi and Star Sports 1 Hindi HD (Hindi)
Live Streaming: On the Disney+ Hotstar website and the app
Asia Cup: Most titles:
India (7 titles – 6 in ODI format and 1 in T20I format) – 1984, 1988, 1990-91, 1995, 2010, 2016, 2018
(India also have been runners-up 3 times – in 1997, 2004 and 2008 – losing all 3 finals to Sri Lanka)
Sri Lanka (5 titles) – 1986, 1997, 2004, 2008, 2014
Pakistan (2 titles) – 2000, 2012

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *