166-run hunted down in mere 45 minutes! Sunrisers Hyderabad onslaught goes to a new high | Cricket News – Times of India


NEW DELHI: Sunrisers Hyderabad openers Travis Head and Abhishek Sharma annihilated the 166-run target set by Lucknow Super Giants in a mere 45 minutes. The duo’s explosive batting performance saw them amass an astonishing 148 runs off just 30 boundary deliveries, which included 16 fours and 14 sixes.
SRH completed their run-chase in under 10 overs, reaching 167/0 in just 9.4 overs, with Head scoring an unbeaten 89* off 30 balls, including eight fours and eight sixes, and Abhishek contributing 75* off 28 balls, featuring eight fours and six sixes.

LSG’ only moment of joy in the innings came in the first over, which went for just 8 runs. However, that was the extent of their success. Abhishek dominated Yash Thakur by smashing four consecutive boundaries, while Head capitalized on Krishnappa Gowtham’s bowling, scoring 22 runs off one over.
Head reached his fifty in just 16 balls, and Abhishek followed closely with a fifty off 19 balls. The onslaught continued even after reaching their milestones, with both batsmen relentlessly attacking to help Sunrisers Hyderabad chase down the target in less than 10 overs.

Let’s take a look at all the records set by Sunrisers Hyderabad during their explosive run-chase.
Highest total after first 10 overs in IPL:

  • 167/0 (9.4) SRH vs LSG Hyderabad 2024
  • 158/4 SRH vs DC Delhi 2024
  • 148/2 SRH vs MI Hyderabad 2024
  • 141/2 MI vs SRH Hyderabad 2024

Winning with most balls to spare in IPL (100+ targets):

  • 62 SRH vs LSG Hyderabad 2024 (Target: 166) *
  • 57 DC vs PK Brabourne 2022 (Target: 116)
  • 48 Deccan vs MI Navi Mumbai 2008 (Target: 155)

SRH became the first team to score 100+ runs twice in powerplay in IPL history
Highest Powerplay totals in IPL

  • 125/0 SRH vs DC Delhi 2024
  • 107/0 SRH vs LSG Hyderabad 2024
  • 105/0 KKR vs RCB Bengaluru 2017
  • 100/2 CSK vs PK Wankhede 2014
  • 93/1 PK vs KKR Kolkata 2024

Highest difference in Powerplay totals in an IPL match

  • 80 LSG(27/2) vs SRH(107/0) Hyderabad 2024
  • 69 GT(23/3) vs RCB(92/1) Bengaluru 2024
  • 65 RCB(40/3) vs KKR(105/0) Bengaluru 2017
  • 59 MI(31/3) vs CSK(90/0) Wankhede 2015

Fewest balls to 100-run partnership (IPL):

  • 30 T Head – Abhishek Sharma vs DC Delhi 2024
  • 34 T Head – Abhishek Sharma vs LSG Hyderabad 2024
  • 36 Harbhajan – J Suchith vs PK Wankhede 2015
  • 36 C Lynn – S Narine vs RCB Bengaluru 2017

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *